Download Free Templates Joomla! 3
Home / News / INEC declares Adeleke as Osun state Governor

INEC declares Adeleke as Osun state Governor

Grace Okon
The electoral commission, INEC, has formally declared Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the governorship election held in Osun State.
The INEC Chief Returning Officer for Osun, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, who announced the result Sunday Morning said the PDP candidate scored 403,371 votes to emerge victorious.
The runner-up was the incumbent Governor, Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 375,027 votes.
He said, I hereby declared that Ademola Adeleke “having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected,” Mr Ogundipe said.
Our correspondent earlier reported that apart from winning the total majority votes, the PDP also won in the majority of the state’s local governments. The PDP won in 17 of Osun’s 30 local governments while the APC won in 13.
None of the other 13 candidates who took part in the election won in any local government.
A total of 15 political parties took part in the election held on Saturday across the 30 local governments of Osun.
Many observers described the election as free of violence but characterised by vote buying.

Check Also

District Head crowns two village heads to end long lasting crisis in Luvu community

Share this on WhatsApp Adams Samuel The District head of Aso Pada, Chief Sarki Shayido, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *