Download Free Templates Joomla! 3
Home / Sports / Sane Replaces Injured Mueller For Germany Against Hungary

Sane Replaces Injured Mueller For Germany Against Hungary

Leroy Sane will start for Germany in Wednesday’s crunch Euro 2020 match against Hungary in Munich, replacing Thomas Mueller who is sidelined by a knee injury.

A draw in Munich would secure Germany a place in the last 16 while Hungary, who are bottom of the group, need a win to avoid elimination.

Mueller was hurt late in Saturday’s 4-2 win over holders Portugal, which put Germany’s European Championship campaign back on track.

Joachim Loew’s men sit second in the Group F table behind France.

Sane is the only change to the German line-up as the 25-year-old makes his first start of the tournament.

Loew had been expected to name midfielder Leon Goretzka for Mueller, but instead opted for Sane’s pace on the wing.

Left-back Robin Gosens, the man-of-the-match against Portugal with a goal and two assists, as well as centre-back Mats Hummels and midfielder Ilkay Gundogan, have all recovered from knocks.

Hungary coach Marco Rossi has named the same starting line-up which earned a 1-1 draw with world champions France last Saturday in Budapest.

Tensions are running high off the pitch after the city of Munich was refused permission by UEFA to light the Allianz Arena in rainbow colours in solidarity with Hungary’s LGBTIQ community.

UEFA and the government of Hungary have both came under a hail of criticism after Budapest’s new anti-LGBTIQ law and the football body’s refusal to light the Munich stadium.

UEFA defended its decision but added the rainbow to its logo, while Budapest praised the governing body for taking a stance against what it sees as political “provocation”.

Germany skipper Manuel Neuer will wear a rainbow-coloured captain’s armband.

Starting line-ups:

Germany (3-4-3)

Manuel Neuer (capt); Matthias Ginter, Mats Hummels, Antonio Ruediger; Joshua Kimmich, Ilkay Gundogan, Toni Kroos, Robin Gosens; Kai Havertz, Serge Gnabry, Leroy Sane

Coach: Joachim Loew (GER)

Hungary (3-5-2)

Peter Gulacsi; Attila Szalai, Willi Orban, Endre Botka; Attila Fiola, Andras Schafer, Adam Nagy, Laszlo Kleinheisler, Loic Nego; Roland Sallai, Adam Szalai (capt)

Coach: Marco Rossi (ITA)

Referee: Sergei Karasev (RUS)

Check Also

NDDC U-17 Peace Cup: Eguavoen, Esin discover new talent

Share this on WhatsAppEx International  Augustine Eguavoen and Etim Esin have commended Niger Delta Development …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *